Follow by Email

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Cards Of Sin

Photobucket


About The Book
 When Reporter Cheyenne Gentry gets an Instant Message she tries to ignore it, but the sender wants her to know he murdered someone tonight. Cheyenne thinks it’s a hoax but finds out it’s not. Then the killer tells her he wants her to write his story. Cheyenne wants nothing to do with the story or the killer but the killer won’t let her refuse his request. Will he let her live long enough to find him or will she become another chapter to his story?


 My Review
This was good read overall. I had a hard time connecting with some of the characters but other then that I enjoyed  reading the book. I was eager to find out who the IM's where from and was able to keep a steady pace reading the whole time. I would say over all I give this book 4 out of 5 Penguins! I am looking forward to more work from  this author.



Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Thursdat at Noon

Photobucket
“Ilsa, you know nothing of soldiers like me, but you soon will,” he taunted her, as he casually tossed the Luger aside. With another quick move, he grabbed her shoulders and threw her onto the floor, hard, as if she were a stuffed doll. He jumped on top, digging a knee into her stomach and knocking the wind out of her. Then he straddled her and said, “In Russia, when we found a surly bitch like you, this usually did the trick. It was strange how we always found them a bit more polite afterwards … sometimes even appreciative.”
She tried to shove him away, but he grabbed her sweater and ripped it open, laughing as he looked down at her small, bare breasts. She reached up and scratched at his cheeks with her fingernails, gouging them like an angry cat and drawing blood. He growled and slapped her across the face again. She screamed in pain, but he slapped her repeatedly, punishing her with each blow until she had to cover her head with her arms. His assault came so fast that everything spun around inside her head. She heard him laughing, but she was helpless to stop him. His hands dropped to her breasts. He grabbed them, rubbing hard and pinching both nipples. She screamed again and shook her head.
“If you aren’t nice to me,” he warned sarcastically, “I’ll hurt you a lot worse than that before I’m finished; and believe me, I know how to hurt a woman.”
His powerful hand grabbed the waistband of her slacks and she felt them rip. Desperately, she turned her head and saw the Luger lying on the bare concrete floor near the wall. She stretched her hand as far as it would reach and was able to wrap her fingers around the barrel. She swung it at him, clubbing him across the forehead with all her strength.
He toppled off to one side, but she kept the rain of blows coming as he tried to block them and right himself. “You little bitch,” he swore, finally grabbing her arm and twisting her wrist backward until the sharp pain made her drop the gun. It was hopeless. She watched his eyes as he ran his free hand across his forehead, pausing to look at the blood, then holding his fingers in front of her eyes so she could see. “You’ll pay dearly for this,” he whispered angrily, as he ripped her slacks open and began to unfasten his belt.
She screamed again as she heard him say, “Oh, yes, you will pay dearly …” but before he could finish the sentence or carry out his threat, his head suddenly snapped to the left with a violent jerk.


Book Description
 Richard Thomson was already having a very bad day when someone left a corpse lying on the rear steps of his hotel. Its head had been lopped off like a ripe melon and had been posed so it could look back down at its own body. Thomson is a burned-out CIA Agent and the body belongs to Mahmoud Yussuf, a fat, petty thief who tried to sell him photographs of a long-abandoned RAF base in the Egyptian desert. What the photos have to do with a dead Israeli Mossad agent, Nazi rocket scientists, the fanatical Moslem Brotherhood, and two missing Egyptian tank regiments could start the next Arab-Israeli War or stop it. Alone and on the run, no one believes Thomson’s answers -- not the CIA, the US Ambassador, Colonel Ali Rashid of Egyptian State Security, and most assuredly not Captain Hassan Saleh, Chief of the Homicide Bureau of the Cairo Police, who wants to hang Thomson, preferably around the CIA’s neck . Under pressure from within and without, the slums of Cairo are a tinder box of discontent and the first faint whiffs of a military coup against the shaky, new government of Abdel Gamal Nasser are in the air. Thompson and the young daughter of one of the German rocket scientists have five action-packed days and nights to figure it out. Tick Toc, Tick Tock! Something is about to blow up in Thomson’s face at Noon on Thursday. Like Night of the Generals, this is a murder mystery wrapped inside an international crisis.
You can buy the book on amazon at the following link: Thursday at Noon
                                                     

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Revenat

Synopsis:
A sacred Navajo artifact, imbued with a shocking and dangerous power.

An amoral con man, willing to stop at nothing to achieve his goals.

And a tiny northern Maine town, isolated and vulnerable.

Last November, Paskagankee, Maine was shaken to its core, held hostage by a centuries-old curse, terrorized by a brutal killing spree stopped at the last possible moment by new police chief Mike McMahon and beautiful young patrol officer Sharon Dupont.

Now, just as the pair - and the town - is beginning to recover, a new horror comes calling.

Billionaire Seattle software designer Brett Parker is in Paskagankee to check on the progress of his newly-constructed summer retreat. But he's not the only new resident in town. Max Acton, murderous sociopath and Arizona cult leader, has gained possession of a long-hidden sacred Navajo artifact with the ability to reanimate the dead.

Acton aims to use the stone in a murderous plot to kidnap Parker and steal his revolutionary new software design developed for the U.S. Department of Defense, selling it to the highest bidder and making millions. He doesn't even need to get his hands dirty. All he needs is a victim to kill . . . and reanimate . . . and force to do his bidding.

All he needs is a revenant.

And the revenant is angry. And he's deadly. And he's unstoppable. And the town of Paskagankee will once again become a battleground between the living and the dead . . .
About Allan:    
Allan Leverone is the author of the Amazon bestselling suspense thriller, THE LONELY MILE, as well as a previous thriller, FINAL VECTOR, and a brand-new supernatural suspense novel titled PASKAGANKEE. He is the author of the horror novellas, DARKNESS FALLS and HEARTLESS for Delirium Books, and is a four-time Derringer Award Finalist for excellence in short mystery fiction as well as a 2011 Puschart Prize nominee. Allan lives in New Hampshire with his wife of nearly thirty years, his family and a cat who has used up eight lives.


My Review:
                      This book has to be up there on my list of favorites. It's such a page turning book! It is very well written and will have you on the edge of your seat as the pages pull you into their world. I highly recommend this book and this author! He is a must read and a must watch for future releases!! 

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Section 132

About The Book:
            

Lillian grows up in an American fundamentalist Mormon sect which still practices polygamy. At thirteen she becomes the child-bride of a Canadian Bishop. His compound is located deep in the wilderness of British Columbia, totally isolated from the rest of the world.
When the land developer Richard Bergman buys the property next to the Bishop’s compound, he gets involuntarily drawn into the sect’s secret …

My Review:
              
              Even though this is a fiction book it is based on some fact. The book itself was a wonderful page turning thriller! I couldn't get enough of this book. Polygamy has always been something that has interested me and I jumped at the chance to be able to review this book. Now some people will try to say that the way it is all written in the book isn't the case anymore but that's not the truth. Some little areas still practice in this way and more people need to be aware of this and I love that this book could do just that. This is a definite must read for anyone who has even the littlest interest in the topic or for anyone who loves thrillers. I give this book






Monday, July 2, 2012

Saving Sunni


About The Book:
Jessie Chambers—“Sunni” to the local BDSM community—needs to grow up. Her master, Sir Rune, has told her to get a job. Her sister slave sage is struggling through college, serious as ever. Sunni goes to the local goth/kink store, The Fringe Element, and is immediately embraced by its quirky owner as the newest member of her “little family.” But almost immediately things start to get complicated. Sunni’s ex shows up, claiming he’s found God and that God wants them to get back together. A video of Sunni and Sir Rune doing a scene at the club winds up on television and all kinds of trouble ensues. Sunni must figure out a way to restore her relationships, keep her master from getting deported, take over running the store, and stop everybody else from trying to “save Sunni.”

My Review:
      This is not the first erotica/fetish book that I have read but it has been one of the best that I have read. I am looking forward to going back and reading the first one in the series. I unfortunately didn't have time to read it beforehand. It was very well written and had a wonderful story to the book which is sometimes rare in these types of books. But it all played nicely together and made the book that much more wonderful! I give this book 4 penguins! 

Kasi online:
Blog     www.kasialexander.com

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

The Halo Effect


About The Book: 

In her debut psychological thriller, Pamela Crane digs into the depths of one of the most baffling mental disorders, erotomania. In this based-on-truth story, Crane delivers a sensitive, nimble, and stimulating story of an aspiring screenplay writer on a passage to reconcile her desire for love and fame at all costs.

It started with a glance. And ended with a nightmare.

Small-town girl Haley Montgomery meets two men who will change her life forever—the handsome Marc Vincetti whom she falls head-over-heels for, and the big-time Hollywood producer Allen Michaels who has the power to turn her screenplay into a movie and a ticket to a better future. It seems as though life couldn't get any better—until things take a decidedly dark turn when Haley spots Marc with his former high school sweetheart and Allen develops a consuming obsession with her.

As Haley is faced with a choice between love and fame, Marc becomes the target of a stalker and Haley's life is thrown into a tailspin. Suddenly everything she thought she knew about Marc and Allen is completely wrong—and Haley's life will never be the same again…

With its smooth mix of suspense and romanticism, The Halo Effect recalls the juncture where the heart and psyche meet—often not in the same plane of reality. But it is also about an ordinary woman’s determination to grasp love at the risk of everything. It’s a story where the worst of villains have hearts, and self-discovery unmasks the dark side within all of us with the hope it will lead us to live for something beyond ourselves.
 
About The Author:     
 
Pamela Crane’s addiction to writing started with a children’s short story competition and a first place win for her fable Weedlia’s Fate. Now, decades later, along with being a wife and mother, she’s nurtured her love of writing to build a career as an editor and novelist. Along with shaping quirky characters and plotlines that reflect glimpses of her own life, she enjoys riding her proud Arabian horse—when he lets her. 
  Pamela Crane ONLINE:

$20 Amazon Gift Card Giveaway


Pamela Crane, author of "The Halo Effect," is hosting a contest, and the prize is a $20 gift card for Amazon.com. All you have to do is answer the following question:


In Chapter 44 of "The Halo Effect," what is the name of Haley Montgomery's childhood friend? E-mail your answer to pamela@pamelacrane.com or fill out the online form at www.pamelacrane.com and all correct entries will be entered in a drawing for the gift card. Drawing will take place on July 1, 2012. Good luck!
 
My Review:
     
    This book was a very interesting read. I could never really get my head wrapped around one idea of how it was going before something else happened. By the end of the book it was completely different from how I thought it was going to end! If you enjoy suspense then please look into this book. It was a little hard to get into at first but after that it had me hooked and had me changing my mind a lot. I tend to be able to tell how a book is going to end and I highly enjoyed that this one kept me on the edge of my seat guessing the whole time!! I give this book 4 penguins!!  

Monday, June 4, 2012

Scoripo Rising

Photobucket




Excerpt

Outside the Moulin Rouge, the men said goodnight and dispersed. Alex paced, scanning the giant posters advertising upcoming performances, waiting impatiently until Gigi appeared. “My place or yours?” she asked.
“Yours,” he replied, thinking of the thin walls and the three-minute timer on the water and electricity in his auberge.
In the taxi, Gigi's hands were all over Alex. “I love your body, Alex. You are such a beautiful young American.”
Alex looked at Gigi appreciatively. “You're not bad yourself,” he started to say, but his words were cut short by Gigi's mouth on his.
Gigi's apartment was a shrine to sensuality. The bed was a gigantic round creation occupying half the space of the large room, with a panel of buttons on the side. Alex glanced at the buttons with curiosity.
“Make yourself a drink, mon amour. I won't be long.” Gigi disappeared behind a mirrored door. Moments later, she reappeared in a shear silk robe. She slinked over to Alex and almost before he knew what was happening, she was extracting him from his trousers. At the sight of his impressive erection, Gigi gasped. “You are going to make me very happy, mon amour.”
Alex chuckled. “The pleasure will be all mine,” he replied. He guided Gigi to the bed and eagerly slipped off her robe. A second later, he leaped from the bed. “God damn it! Why the fuck didn't you tell me?”
Gigi lay contrite on the disheveled bed. “But, mon amour, everybody knows Gigi is short for Gilbert.” 

 Author Links
         Hop on over to the authors website and enter to win some signed books and Amazon GC's!    Giveaway Here! 

The Character

About The Book: 


"There is something really important you need to know about me right away. It's a secret. But I'll tell you: I only have one good memory of my dad." So begins ten-year-old Anna's story, a story of abuse that is heart breaking and often difficult to read. In the midst of intense pain, though, Anna finds hope and the will to overcome through her friendship with the mysterious storyteller Ash. An intense and ground-breaking work on a societal and familial issue that is all to often swept under the rug, "The Character" is a study of one remarkable girl and her method for overcoming a life of tragedy and pain.

My Review: 
  Honestly if I could give this book more then 5 penguins I would. It deserves at least 7! It was a very sad book but the writing is amazing and the way the story plays out is written so effortlessly.  Tiffini has a talent for writing and I am looking forward to read her other books as well! More people need to be brought aware to child abuse and I loved that this book could do this and keep readers attentions. I highly recommend this book!!! Just because 5 is the highest that I go I give it 5 even though it deserves more.

Sunday, June 3, 2012

To Whom It May Concern:A Struggle To Survive

About The Book:
   Sometimes random acts of kindness from a stranger or even a perceived enemy cannot only save a life, they can also teach priceless lessons that will follow us forever.
Cynthia Thomas knows this well. She spends her youth being abused by her father, something her mother allows to happen. Always bright in school, she uses a college scholarship to leave home, but as she matures, her adult relationships are still filled with pain and betrayal.
Before it is too late, Cynthia meets Ms. Graham, a woman who should probably hate her, but instead of hurting her, Ms. Graham offers her a way out of her abusive existence. But will Cynthia be able turn Ms. Graham's kindness into a better life, or will she be forever sucked into abusive relationships, like a moth spiraling toward a flame?

My Review:
     This book to me was sad at the beginning. I felt for Cynthia and wished that she could be free from all that she was put through. The book did have a happy ending though which I was glad for! The book took me a little longer to read then most as I had a hard time getting through certain parts of  the book. I liked the book overall though and would give this book 4 penguins!

Saturday, June 2, 2012

Follow the adventures of Squirrely, who can't help but to be wiggly and a day dreamer! 


My Review:
 My kids LOVED this book! They ask me to read it to them everyday. They think that it is so funny that he just can't sit still. I asked my four year old what her favorite part of the book was and she said "His Dreams" and that she likes the book a whole lot! So in the eyes of my girls I think this book is amazing. I enjoyed reading it to them also!! I give this book (based off the girls) 
 

Friday, June 1, 2012

Secrets Unfold

About The Book: 
      
Can a secret be so powerful that it destroys everything you know? For Mary Jacovitch, whose family history is built on deceit and tragedy, the answer is yes. Entrusted at age seven with her dying father’s dark secret, as a teenager Mary seeks to escape this knowledge and her overbearing mother through promiscuous behavior—but her actions have serious consequences. As Secrets Unfold begins, Mary tries to hide the reality of her pregnancy, but the truth inevitably is revealed. This birth triggers a landslide of tragic events touching everyone in her life: her brother, Steve; her mother, Jean; her adult lover, Ryan; her own newborn son, Nickolai; and beyond. As these pressures prove too great for Mary’s young mind and the strands of sanity unravel, it becomes clear that, for better or for worse, no one’s life will ever be the same again.


My Review: 
       This book was a very easy read. I liked the plot to the book even though I wish it would have gone more into details with things. It kinda just threw you in their life's with every little info. But in all it was a good book and the ending was a shocker and not something I was expecting! It is a book I would like to see a sequel to to find out what happens with the family and the baby. I give it 4 penguins.

Snapshots of Fictionalized Facts

About The Book: 


This is my take on different events in my life. While each of these memories are factual, they have been fictionalized due to time and/or age.


My Review: 
 The book was very well written. It kinda confused me since the pieces of the facts where all over the place. I would have liked it better if they went in an order of some short but that probably would have not been what the author was trying for. It was a very easy and quick read and I enjoyed it besides the all over the place thing. It was very well written in grammar and errors way and I loved getting a look into her life. I give this book 3 penguins only because of the confusion thing.

Thursday, May 31, 2012

A Black Girl's Poetry For The World

A book on poetry on life and love


My Review:
  I love to read poetry. It is a way to look at the person who wrote it. I have wrote some before but nothing I ever felt good enough. But I have always loved reading poetry others have written so when I got the chance to review this book I was so excited! This book is so real and down to earth. I found myself relating to so many of the poems. It's not all love and perfect like some poems are. It was about real life issues that everyone faces. I happened to read the book when I was going through a hard time in my life and it was so helpful to me to see that others go through what I go through and that someone else knows how I am feeling. I also looked at it and realized that things will get better and that sometimes people are worse off then I am and I need to be thankful for what I do have. If you like poetry please look into this book. I give this book
 

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Gothic Spring

About The Book:
Victorine Ellsworth knows something about the death of the vicar's wife...but what? Is she the killer? Or the next victim? GOTHIC SPRING is a journey into a mind that is unraveling. Victorine is a young woman poised at the edge of sexual awakening and cursed with more talent and imagination than society will tolerate. The conflict between her desire and the restrictions that rule her life lead to tragic circumstances.

My Review:
    The book took me a few pages to get into but once I got into it I was hooked. I thought it was going to be a love story and follow a certain plat line but I was so wrong! I loved the twists toward the end of the book and without giving anything away it was so unexpected! I got to a point in the book where I could not put it down. I was reading everywhere I went and made sure I had the book with me at all times! It was a very good read and a very good plot! I would give this book 4 Penguins! It is  a must read book! 

New Cover:
 The cover you see above is the older print. The new cover is below and so beautiful! I can only imagine that it looks better in person! 
 

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Familiar Ties

 About The Book:

Max West is a widower raising Phoebe, his four-year-old daughter. Phoebe has to live with the fact that the day she was born is also the day of her mother's death. As her fifth year without her mother approaches, Phoebe finds solace in her godmother, Amy Riley, and her daughter, Grace Crawford, another single parent family.

Amy Riley is a successful fashion designer who spends most of her days raising her four-year-old daughter, Grace, while her wayward boyfriend is travelling the world making the next best film. As the fifth year without her best friend looms she finds comfort in her ex-boyfriend, Max, and his daughter, Phoebe.

These two “broken” families have a tough week to face as the dreaded day approaches. However through their past, present and debatable future will their choices affect the outcome both parents clearly want and are simply denying? Or will Phoebe and Grace lose the only “whole” family they have ever known?

Author Interview:

  How did you come up with the idea for this story?
I created ‘Familiar Ties’ by looking at storylines that I loved in TV shows and then tweaked them to how I wanted them to be. I also have a love for romance and wanted to write my own love story that when how I wanted it to.
·         What books/authors have influenced your writing?
My favorite author is Jodi Picoult however she didn’t influence my writing I just love her books. There was no particular book or writer that influenced my writing as I love to read a wide range of books.
·         What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your book to life?
Balancing my time between writing and studying was my hardest thing to do. However looking for publishers was also hard as I wasn’t sure if I wanted to self publish or not and then I wasn’t sure which publishers to go with as you hear about all these fake publishers so I had to be careful.
·         What was the hardest part of writing your book?
I think the editing process was hard as I found there were loads of parts that I understood as a writer however my message didn’t necessarily get across to my readers.
·         Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Follow your heart…
·         Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
English has always been my favorite subject at school so I guess it stemmed from there because writing stories was my favorite part of that class 


My Review:
 This is a book you cannot put down and won't mind missing out on sleep to be able to stay up and finish reading it! It is such a heartfelt romance book! I fell in love with not only the plot but also the characters. The writing of the book is so effortless even with the going between past and present, it had to take a lot of thought to get it to be so effortless. But ever still the author has an amazing talent for writing! This book had me smiling the whole way through it and while I was reading it just changed my mood altogether! If you are looking for an uplifting read please check out this book! I give it 
 

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Cub In Blue


Cub in Blue
By Morgan K. Wyatt

Genre: Erotic Romance
Heat level: 4
Publisher: Secret Cravings Publishing
Release date: January 21, 2012

What if all your life consisted of was, work and therapy dates where middle-aged men talked about their fears in a family-style restaurant? Would it depress you? Maybe it would even make you long for something new, even, a little wild? It did Deidre. Call it an impulse move born of desperation, but she finally caved into Curt, a policeman who just returned to duty after being wounded in a sting operation, who wasn’t taking no for an answer.
 
Going out with a cop, fourteen years her junior was an irrational thing to do her friends helpfully pointed out. Meeting Curt for drinks was just the beginning. Deidre was unsure how to handle her recovering hero, and her growing affection for the young alpha male. The real question was would Deidre be able to overcome her doubts and peer pressure to live the life she always fantasized about having? 

 
Excerpt

Tossing her hair over her shoulder, she noticed a man staring at her intently. She slipped off her glasses, thinking it would make her look more attractive. It might be him. A square set to his shoulders, short military-style haircut, and he appeared to be walking in a direct line to her. Could be. She flashed a smile, a calculated smile meant to dazzle with perfect orthodontic work and promise. He stopped suddenly as if hit in the solar plexus.
Deidre?”
Turning slightly, she allowed one long leg to stretch out and make contact with the floor before speaking. Falling off the barstool might not make the best first impression. “Curt?” Dare she hope this toned male with the almost crew cut was her man.
Ah, it is you.” Curt grinned, taking her hand and helping her alight from the barstool. Nodding in the direction of her glass, he asked, “Is that your drink?” At her agreement, he picked up the glass and led her to a table.
Deidre shot a quick glance back at the bartender who shrugged his shoulders. Probably meant no key lime pie for her. Oh well, she didn’t come for the pie.
Putting her drink on the booth table, Curt leaned over and gave her a brief hug and kiss on the hair. Wow. Surprised, Deidre plopped down on the vinyl seat, causing it to make an embarrassing hissing noise. “It’s the seat,” she explained, sorry she said anything once the words came out. Can we say sophisticated older woman image up in flames?
I know.” Curt acknowledged her remark, sliding in opposite her. A server showed up, handed them menus, and took Curt’s beer order.
The conversational ball was back to her. Argh. Her mind kept yelling “yummy,” but not a great way to start a conversation, or was it? “Curt, I couldn’t help noticing you are even cuter than your photo. Now why is it you like older women?”
His eyes lit up as he picked up Deidre’s hand and bestowed a kiss on it. “That’s one of the reasons I like older women, they cut to the chase, say what they mean.”
Oh.” Did she do that? If she did, it wasn’t intentional.
The server brought Curt his beer and inquired if they’d like to order anything from the menu. The deal was you really needed to order food if you wanted to prolong your time together. Suddenly, she knew she wanted to extend her time. So far, she’d had more physical contact with Curt in the last four minutes than all her dates with Kevin combined, and she liked it. A lot.
The burgers sizzling behind the swinging doors tantalized her. A burger would be good. Besides, burgers did not embarrass her as sloppy foods like ribs or tricky foods like crab legs that tended to shoot across the table in the cracking. Curt followed her lead. What were they talking about again? Oh yeah, how well Curt filled out his clothes.
Curt took a drink and let his free hand cover hers on the table. “I also like the fact that older women know who they are. They aren’t constantly trying out new images like Lady Gaga.”
Deidre smiled at the idea of trying new images. She did that a long, long time ago. For a while, she thought dating would give her a chance to be someone new, but she found the stress of dating didn't play well with being a completely new person. She could barely remember details about her date. Forget re-inventing herself.

 
About the Author:

Morgan as a child had to suffer through movies with clueless heroines rescued by smart men. Her mother dutifully read her stories where princesses waited for princes to jumpstart their lives. There were no proactive female role models in the media at that time, with the exception of Wonder Woman. It is for this reason, and that it is fun, Morgan writes about strong women going after what they want, which is often a delectable cub. Those who wonder if the cougar tales have any reality to them should remember that writers often put themselves into every story they pen, even if it is a secondary character.

You can find Morgan online at the following places:
Examiner.com: M. Carole Wyatt--Indy Dating Examiner
Blog: http://datingafterfortyeight.blogspot.com


Saturday, April 21, 2012

Love Thy Neighbor





 About The Book:
CLARK HAYDEN is a graduate student trying to help his mother navigate through the loss of his father while she continues to live in their house near Washington DC. With his mother’s diminishing mental capacity becoming the norm, Clark expects a certain amount of craziness as he heads home for the holidays. What he couldn’t possibly anticipate, though, is that he would find himself catapulted into the middle of a terrorist operation. As the holiday festivities reach a crescendo, a terrorist cell – which happens to be across the street – is activated. Suddenly Clark is discovering things he never knew about deadly chemicals, secret government operations, suspiciously missing neigh- bors, and the intentions of a gorgeous IRS auditor. Clark’s quiet suburban neighborhood is about to become one of the most deadly places on the planet, and it’s up to Clark to prevent the loss of hundreds of thousands of innocent lives in the nation’s capital.

 My Review:
This was a very well written book! The author did an amazing job of keeping all the characters in order and had facts and fiction throughout the book that where beyond amazing. It was a page turner for me and now one of my favorite books. If you love thrillers you need to check this book out! This is a book that will have you still questioning things well after you are done reading it! I am highly looking forward to more work from Mark Gilleo and will be buying them to add to my collections of books.


Rating:
 

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Zero to Four Kids

 About The Book:
From Zero to Four Kids in Thirty Seconds is a humorous yet compelling story of a woman who fell hook, line and thousands of dollars in sinkers for a guy with four kids and enough fishing tackle to sink a small boat.
It has 70 tips that are helpful for stepmothers and future stepmothers, and it’s a fun read for any woman who bit off more than she bargained for and gained even more in the end.


 My Review:
When I got the chance to review this book for a book tour I jumped on it just based on the title. I have always wonder how it works becoming a step parent when you yourself had no kids. 
I very much enjoyed this book and the humor that Amy put throughout the book. Her writing is so easy to connect with and so easy to relate to. 
Even though I am not a step mom to other kids I loved the tips throughout the book for them. It helped me relate to my own step mother in ways that I had never considered before. I fell in love with this book and I highly recommend it to anyone, whether you are a step mom or not. I give this book

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Explorer X: Beta




Barely escaping their captors, Aadi and Eirena are determined to save their dying friend. After their final confrontation with the species that tortured them, they’ve changed-unfortunately, not for the better. The changes caused by a terrible experiment force Aadi to accept the possibility that he may never be fit to go home, and that holding onto his sanity, or leading his friends to safety will end in failure and may rip his friendship with Eirena apart, forever. 




My Review:
 This book was amazing! I know I am an adult and it is geared towards teenagers, but I just found it to be an easy read. I was a little lost since I have not read the first book in the series yet but I know I am going to be getting it and the others that follow as well as other books from L.M. Preston. If you have a tween or teen in your house that loves sci-fi then you really need to get them this book! It's available on Amazing for around $11 for paperback.

Thursday, March 15, 2012

Gods and Fathers


 
 
 
SYNOPSIS:  Nationally bestselling author James LePore has established a reputation as a writer whose vividly drawn characters and morally complex plots have kept readers up to all hours turning pages. His new novel promises more sleepless nights and more nonstop thrills.

Matt DeMarco is an accomplished Manhattan attorney with more than his share of emotional baggage. His marriage ended disastrously, his ex-wife has pulled their son away from him, and her remarriage to a hugely successful Arab businessman has created complications for Matt on multiple levels. However, his life shifts from troubled to imperiled when two cops – men he's known for a long time – come into his home and arrest his son as the prime suspect in the murder of the boy's girlfriend.

Suddenly, the enmity between Matt and his only child is no longer relevant. Matt must do everything he can to clear his son, who he fully believes is innocent. Doing so will require him to quit his job and make enemies of former friends – and it will throw him up against forces he barely knew existed and can only begin to comprehend how to battle.

GODS AND FATHERS is at once a powerful mystery and a provocative international thriller, all of it presented with LePore's signature fascinating characters placed in dire circumstances where every choice poses new and potentially fatal challenges.
 
 REVIEW: I have to say that this book took me a minute to get into but once I got into it it kept my attention. It was very well written and very well laid out. The author reminds me of John Grisham's works if that is something that you love then you will need to check out all the past and future books from James LePore! He had some amazing twists in the book that I can't really get into without giving much away but all I can say is if you like political thrillers then you need to get this book! 
I give this book 4 penguins! 


Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Hunters



Book Summary

                  Once, Lin Tang was a naive teenager, keeper of an ancient mystical art on an isolated mountain in China. In one rebellious moment, she left her home for the bright lights of Shanghai. Just as quickly, her naïveté turned her into a creature of the night, concubine for one master after another until she fell into the hands of Louis Riordan. Then, after many painful hours of training with sensei Lo Chang, she transformed herself into Riordan’s lethal enforcer and one of the most feared vampires in North America.

Her old life lost to her, she has made the most of her new one, building a mini empire of power and respect. But, it is all about to end. A band of humans has dared to challenge her master, Riordan. Even worse, unbeknownst to her, one of those humans is Cantrell Ryker, her most hated enemy, literally returned from the grave. Soon, Lin Tang will be in the most important fight of her life, for these humans, these Hunters won’t stop until they’ve taken her very soul.

My Review
     I found the book very well written and easy to read. The story turned out to be amazing after I was able to get over some personal issues going on and focus fully on the book. It had be staying up late at night and using any spare time I had to read! I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a twist in the books they read. I have always been a huge Stephen King fan but this author has to come in at a close second and the writings are similar to me. If you are a Stephen King fan you must check out this book! I give this book 

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

I've Been Tagged

I got tagged to answer some questions and figured I would give it a go :) Incandescent Enchantments is the blog that tagged me so everyone head over there and check it out!

Rules

Rules:
1. You must post the rules.
2. Answer the question the tagger set for you in their post and then create ten new questions to ask the people that you have tagged. 
3. Tag eleven people and link to them on your post.
4. Let them know you've tagged them.
 
 
Questions

Are you a vampire or werewolf kind of person?
Out of these probably a werewolf
 
Do you listen to music when you read?
Sometimes. It doesn't bother me to listen to it while reading
 
Do you prefer to read outside in the sunshine or at night next to a lit fireplace during a storm?
During a storm with a lit fireplace!! 
 
How did you come up with your blog's name?
I love penguins and a friend came up with it for me
 
What's your favorite series?
Harry Potter
 
What author would you love to meet?
Stephen King
 
What's your favorite genre?
I like YA the best but after that just general fiction
 
What book do you REALLY want to be a movie(enough that you think you're going to die)?
I'm not sure about that one. I think a lot of books to movies are ruined when they become a movie
 
How often are you on your blog? On Facebook? Twitter?
My blog is a couple times a week. Facebook and Twitter is daily
 
What do you prefer: ebooks, paperbacks/hardbacks, or audiobooks?
Paperback/Hardback
 
Questions For People Tagged
1) What made you get started in reviewing books?
2) Who is your favorite author?
3) What book could you read over and over again and not get tired of it?  
4) Where is your favorite place to read?
5) What one tip would you give to new bloggers?
6) What do you hate about blogging?
7) When do you do most of your reading?
8)What do you love about blogging?
9) What is your favorite Genre?
10) Kindle or Nook?
 
People I Am Tagging (Only Tagging 5 for now)
1)Tabbs @Insightful Minds 
2)Jenn @Jenn's Book Blog  
4) Paula @ Book Lover Stop  
5)Rachel @ Book Crazy Reviews